The 2015 Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry is now accepting submissions

Invisible Publishing and Matrix Magazine are pleased to announce that the 2015 Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry is now accepting submissions

This year's judge is the award-winning and internationally renowned poet, Karen Solie!

About Karen Solie:

Karen Solie’s most recent collection of poems, Pigeon, won the 2010 Griffin Poetry Prize. Her first collection of poems, Short Haul Engine, won the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize and was shortlisted for the 2002 Griffin Poetry Prize, the ReLit and the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award. Her second, Modern and Normal, was shortlisted for the Trillium Book Award for Poetry. Her poetry, fiction and non-fiction have appeared in numerous North American journals. She is a native of Saskatchewan and now lives in Toronto.

The Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry

The winner receives a trade paperback contract with Invisible Publishing's Snare Imprint which will include the publication of the manuscript and a $500 advance.


The prize is awarded annually to the best poetry manuscript by an emerging Canadian writer (a writer who has published fewer than two books). Each year the winning manuscript will be selected by an established poet in co-operation with Invisible Publishing's Snare Imprint.

DEADLINE FOR ENTRIES: January 31, 2015

Each entry must be accompanied with a business size SASE and an entry fee for $30.00 Canadian. Please make all cheques and money orders payable to “Matrix Publications.” No cash please.

Send manuscripts to:
The Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry 

Invisible Publishing's Snare Imprint

c/o Matrix
 1455 de Maisonneuve Blvd. W. LB 658

Montreal QC

H3G 1M8

Or via Submittable:

Alternatively, you may send you manuscript electronically to and send your payment via PAYPAL:

RK Award Entry Fee

The Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry Full Guidelines

About Robert Kroetsch:
One of Canada’s most celebrated literary artists, Robert Kroetsch is without a doubt Canada’s most important postmodern writer. His novels, poetry and theory have consistently been benchmarks for literary innovation in Canada. He won the governor General’s Award for his novel, The Studhorse Man, and in 2004, he was made an officer of the order of Canada. Kroetsch passed away suddenly in 2011. Invisible Publishing's Snare Imprint is proud to honour his literary legacy through the establishment of the annual Robert Kroetsch Award for Innovative Poetry.

2007–> Winner: Natalie Zina Walshots, Judge: Darren Wershler
2008–> Winner: Geoffery Hlibchuk, Judge: Elizabeth Bachinsky
2009–> Winner: Sarah Dowling, Judge: Rachel Zolf
2010–> Winner: Jake Kennedy, Judge: Sina Queryas
2011–> Winner: Pearl Pirie, Judge: Neil Besner
2012–> Winner: Laura Broadbent, Judge: Sachiko Murakami
2013-> Winner: Claire Lacey, Judge: Jay MillAr
2014-> Winner: Jeremy Stewart, Judge: Ken Babstock